Volunteer Training at Sutter Hospice

Last night I had the opportunity to assist with the excellent volunteer training at Sutter Hospice in Emeryville. Merry Steagall, the amazing volunteer coordinator there asked me the speak to volunteers about Setting Healthy Boundaries. I have given this talk in years past, and was happy to do it again. We touched on the importance of maintaining one’s own boundaries as well as respecting those of patients/clients in regard to personal space, respect for time and physical limitations. We covered professional/volunteer role specifications/limitations as well as legal liability issues. Finally, we has some time with the idea of self-care (important for volunteers, professionals and family caregivers alike!). The volunteer group had a lively discussion and I was so glad for the participation and wisdom of Sutter’s new Bereavement Coordinator, Neave. I suspect Merry and the hospice folks may lure me back for more great stuff with the volunteer team. As you may have gathered, I have a big mushy place in my heart for hospice and am so glad to be able to help in this way. More to come ….

About christinekovach

I am a licensed clinical social worker/ psychotherapist in private practice in Alameda, California. I specialize in working with those who are facing serious illness, enduring grief and in providing support to caregivers. I hold both individual and family counseling sessions as well as facilitate a number of support groups for caregivers of ill and elderly loved-ones and groups for professional hospice staff who provide care to the terminally ill. I have a 16-year history working in hospice care prior to starting my private practice and have a deep connection to the end-of-life journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment